Matter of Opinion

Next event: April 2020 TBC

Held every second year, this competition is for a team of four – a chairman and three panellists. The Chairman introduces the team (up to 2 minutes) and summarises their responses but may not offer an opinion. The teams choose to offer their opinions on at least three of seven statements/questions provided to them within a 16 minutes timescale (including the Chariman’s introduction).

“Although held on 1st April 2019 there were no fools here tonight. The adjudicators had a difficult time coming to a decision due to the high standard of the entrants. However, Eassie & Nevay were victorious with Kingsmuir 1 runners up. The best Chairman (outwith the winning team) was Jean Cook and Jean Alexander was the best panellist, both from Kingsmuir 1. Thank you to the judges, Mairi for timekeeping, members of Letham SWI for the teas and all the teams for taking part – well done.”

The National Final is held on alternate years (the same year as the National Quiz). The next North East Area’s National Final will take place in Fochabers on 26th October 2019 , hosted by Moray & Nairn Federation. Angus will be represented by Eassie & Nevay Institute.

Rules for the National Finals can be found here.